Latest news

As we close our doors today, it is timely to look back at what CONCERT has achieved since it was established on 1st July, 2014 as part of Cancer Institute of NSW initiative for Translational Cancer Research Centres.
Vikneswary Batumalai
When Translational Research Fellow (SWSLHD/Ingham), Vikneswary Batumalai (Vicky), was a young girl she watched her grandmother undergo radiation therapy and was in awe of the work of the radiation team. This awe turned to passion when she decided, not only to pursue a career in radiation therapy, but also to a life helping cancer patients.
Left to right: Dr. Vikneswary Batumalai, Dr. Vincent Ho, Dr. Pei Ding, Dr. Srinivasa P. Pothula and Prof Valsamma Eapen.
Three of five Ingham Research Excellence Awards have been awarded to CONCERT members earlier this month.
CONCERT Director, Scientia Professor Michael Barton OAM and CONCERT members, Dr Vikneswary Batumalai, Dr Tony Pang and Ms Natalie Stunnell have all received awards at this year’s UNSW SWS Precinct Research Awards.
Professor Afaf Girgis
In 1969, a nine year old Egyptian girl with not a word of English arrived on Australian soil. 51 years later, that little girl has become one of Australia’s leading researchers in cancer survivorship and psycho-oncology and is this month’s CONCERT member of the month.
Dr Gabriel Gabriel
A plethora of research exists showing that Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in Australia have poorer cancer survival outcomes than their non-Aboriginal counterparts. Seeking to uncover the reasons why these rates differ so markedly is the aim of Dr Gabriel Gabriel’s project which was awarded a CONCERT Grant earlier this year.
In the seven years following its establishment, CONCERT’s Biobank supported a total of nine research projects with specimens. In little over one year (from July 2019 to August 2020), the biobank has matched that number thanks to the hard work of the dedicated biobank team and manager, Dr. Joseph Po.

Membership is free and is available for those employed/enrolled at one of our participating institutions and based at SWSLHD, ISLHD or ACT.